Changing careers is scary but not impossible

Inês Messias
5 min readAug 9, 2022

--

And so is being a teacher. But here I am

Unsplash/ Brendan Church

Ok. Picture this. You are 17 years old, in your senior year of High School, and choosing your university major, as you should. At least, that is what everyone tells you to do: to continue studying, so you can become a successful (and possibly burnt-out) adult.

So you think: “What would I like to do for the rest of my life? My counselor told me to choose something related to information. And I DO NOT like numbers (or know how to count), so it HAS to be something related to the roman alphabet”.

After ruminating about the theme for a while, you have your ‘EUREKA!’ moment and shout: “That is it!!!!! I will be a journalist”.

It may sound like hyperbole, but this was how I chose my major, even though I never enjoyed consuming the news or knew anything about the industry.

Even so, college was fine. I had good(ish) grades and convinced myself that I wanted to be explored for 12 hours a day, get paid the minimum wage, and copy and paste the work of another journalist who followed the same process.

I even worked as an Intern for three years.

And then, when I was working remotely at a co-working space, I was given a second chance.

I tutored many kids during my college years and always enjoyed it. So, after analyzing my resume, the co-working space managers told me that I could work there tax-free if I offered Portuguese classes for the other (foreign) members.

And so I did. And I felt alive. I felt like I had met my purpose.

I then knew I wanted to teach for the rest of my life.

However, in my country, Portugal, there are not a lot of (good) opportunities for educators, especially for those who did not major in education. Still, I had some options, and I was able to build my career.

It was scary and resulted in A LOT of anxiety, but here I am now: with a stable job, house hunting in my favorite Portuguese village, and happy as a clam. All this before the age of 30.

Here is how I did it.

I started freelancing

This point is no surprise for most people starting their careers or changing their profession since it allows us to have a first real experience.

This labor modality, however, can be scary since it does not offer a lot of stability, especially when you are just starting, do not have a lot of contacts, or still do not know how to get around.

I started with just one paying student, was always honest with him (about being inexperienced), and did my best to prepare his classes with quality materials.

This decision required an early investment in some teaching material and education (I had to study a lot to be able to explain my maternal language).

But, as you can imagine, it was worth it: Ulysse still is my student and even signed up for the school where I work.

Also, as he is acquainted with many other ex-pats, he recommended my services to his friends, which helped me build a reputation for myself, little by little.

I got a part-time job at a public school

Last November, a friend told me she had started teaching at a public school, even though her major was Economics, and she had never studied education.

I was curious and asked her how she did it because I wanted to do the same.

So it happens, in Portugal, you can apply for a short-term contract as a teacher if your academics are related to the subject you want to teach.

Knowing this information, I applied to teach middle school Portuguese, expecting a group of hormonal pre-teens. It was not my area of expertise, but it would allow me to make connections and earn money.

But the universe was kind to me and assigned me a class of adults, all ex-pats, that wanted to learn my language.

It was an incredible experience. I had a little extra work because it required a two-hour commute, and the school did not provide any materials, but it allowed me to explore my country and language.

Also, this part-time job made me study grammar like I never had and fall in love with all of the Portuguese quirks.

I kept my options open and myself flexible

Not so long ago, not many people wanted to learn European Portuguese as a foreign language. However, that is now changing since we have a lot of digital nomads coming here who want to communicate with everybody.

Still, there are not many schools offering this type of class. So I knew I would probably have to move to follow my dreams.

This hypothesis became a reality when I received an offer for a job far from my hometown. Even so, I felt super lucky because I already knew the place I ended up moving to.

This process and flexibility are not always easy because it means being far from your friends and family but, allows you to get to know yourself better in a scenario of discomfort and novelty.

I applied to MANY jobs

Every time a suggestion for a teaching job came up on linked, I applied. Even when I did not have the qualifications they were looking for.

I did this for a while, and it was frustrating.

I was very anxious about this situation, thinking I would never find a stable job.

One night, however, I found it: the ideal offer, at a place I already knew and that I always loved.

I applied at 4 a.m, and at 9 a.m the recruiter called me. I got the job at noon.

Now, I invite you to take a risk and turn your life around.

I know this is not a possibility for everyone, but if you can do it, start taking action as soon as possible.

It is worth it.

See you on the other side.

--

--

Inês Messias

A Portuguese teacher who likes to think of her life as a “coming to age” movie. Writes about adulting and mental health.